On the 25th of November 2021, the Institute of Neurosciences of the University of Barcelona hosted the V annual PhD Workshop at Campus Mundet.

The workshop session started with an opening ceremony by the PhD Committee, where they make a presentation of what is the PhD Committee, which is the evolution of the Committee and where they explained the workshops that they organised in the last years. 

The Scientific Advisory Board (SAB), form by:

  • Kimmo Alho, University of Helsinki, Finland
  • Ernest Arenas, Karolinska Institute, Sweden
  • Mercedes Atienza, Universidad Pablo de Olavide, Spain
  • Carmen Sandi, Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne, Switzerland
  • Frederic Saudou, Institute of Neuroscience, University Grenoble-Alps, France

presented themselves to the PhD students, in addition, they expose their sciencifit careers. 

The PhD Committe

The workshop was concluded with four round tables (each session was led by one of our SAB members) where the PhD students had the opportunity to attend to the session that they were more interested. In this mentoring session the PhD students had the chance to interact with Senior Researchers from other institutions where they can mirror to in their future. They had the opportunity to ask them many things in relations with their scientific careers and their professional experience, to know how they arrive there. 

After the workshop PhD students enjoyed an Improvisational Leadership (by Performing Ideas), specialized in teaching Improvisational Leadership, which looks at how to lead in complex, unexpected situations when there is no plan and important decisions need to be made fast. 

To conclude the PhD Workshop, the PhD students attended to an Improshow Event & beverage (by Planeta Impro) at the Mundet canteen, it was a just fun time, where they had the chance to interact with other PhD Students of UB on the Neuroscience field in a relaxed atmosphere, share their interests, ideas, research, etc…

We thank the members of the PhD Committee Carla Castany, Esther Garcia, Laura Montejo, Gizem Senel, Josep Algerich, Alba Ortega, Irene Sanchez and Marta Riba, for their dedication to making this year’s PhD workshop a success, and invite PhD students interested in serving on the PhD Committee of next year’s edition to get in touch with us by contacting ubneuro@ub.edu.

No Comments

Post a Comment